History of CATYC

The Council on Accreditation for Two-Year Colleges (CATYC) is a 19-state organization with over 350 institutional members. It is the second largest organization of two-year colleges in the United States. The largest is the American Association of Community Colleges (AACC).

More than 75 years ago, several insightful junior college leaders met to form an organization of two-year colleges in the North Central Region. The group was organized out of the need to convince the Higher Learning Commission accrediting agency that two-year colleges were real colleges and were here to stay.

In the Fall, CATYC meets in one of the 19 states of the North Central region. The spring meeting of the council has, historically, been held in conjunction with the annual meeting of the Higher Learning Commission.

Following the name change from the North Central Association to the Higher Learning Commission, The Council of North Central Two Year Colleges (CNCTYC) changed its name in 2017 to the Council on Accreditation for Two-Year Colleges (CATYC).

The CATYC Office is housed at:

Labette Community College 200 South Fourteenth Street Parsons, KS 67357 Phone: 620-820-1223 Fax: 620-421-0921

Email: meganf@labette.edu Website: www.catyc.com

Dr. George Knox, Executive Director Megan Fugate, Executive Assistant

Members of the 2019-2020 Executive Committee

CATYC President Dr. Mark Watkins, President

Labette Community College 200 S. 14th Street Parsons, KS 67357

CATYC President Elect Alysia Johnston, President

Fort Scott Community College 2108 S. Horton Fort Scott, KS 66701

CATYC Vice-President Dr. Charles Johnson, President

Vincennes University 1001 N. Second St. Vincennes, IN 47591

CATYC Past President Dr. Betty Young, President

Hocking College 3301 Hocking Parkway Nelsonville, OH 45764

Dr. Jackie Elliott, President

Central Arizona College 8470 N. Overfield Road Coolidge, AZ 85128

Dr. Doug Binsfeld, Associate VP of Learning & Student Success

Northeast Iowa Community College Peosta Campus 8342 NICC Drive Peosta, IA 52068

Dr. Bruce Moses, Associate Provost

Pima Community College 4905B East Broadway Blvd. Tucson, AZ 85709

Dr. Evelyn Jorgenson, President

Northwest Arkansas Community College One College Avenue Bentonville, AR 72712

Dr. Paul Watson II

Vice President for Instruction 450 North Avenue Battle Creek, MI 49017

Executive Director Dr. George Knox

COUNCIL on ACCREDITATION for TWO-YEAR COLLEGES



MEMBERSHIP BROCHURE

www.catyc.com

Purpose of CATYC

Article II of the Constitution and Bylaws of the Council on Accreditation for Two-Year Colleges, revised September 2017, states the purposes of the organization:

- To work with The Higher Learning Commission in the promotion of standards, practices, and policies for two-year colleges.
- To promote effective communication and articulation of the membership represented by this Council with the American Association of Community Colleges and other educational agencies.
- To support appropriate legislation to improve programs and services in twoyear colleges.
- To sponsor workshops, seminars, and academies on appropriate topics of interest where differing views, methodologies, and interests that support the goals of The Higher Learning Commission may be shared.
- To promote research and assist the member institutions in meeting change in two-year college education.
- To provide information and encourage community services among member institutions and communities interested in two-year college education.
- To sponsor an annual meeting of the membership.

Membership Benefits

- Ensuring a strong voice for two-year colleges in the Higher Learning Commission region.
- Fall meeting for institutional leaders to share fellowship, exchange views and to meet persons shaping our nation's future.
- Annual community college reception at the Higher Learning Commission spring meeting.
- Direct Council liaison with the Higher Learning Commission executive officers and staff.
- Opportunity to participate in the Council's and the Higher Learning Commission sponsored research grant program.
- A staff offering assistance to Council members on an ongoing basis.
- Endorsement/support of legislation improving programs and services in community college education.
- Cooperation with the Higher Learning Commission to promote desirable standards, practices, and policies.

Membership Information

The CATYC membership year runs from July 1-June 30. Dues will be based on head-count enrollment as identified in the Higher Education Directory. The dues structure is as follows:

0-499	\$ 100.00
500-1,999	\$ 125.00
2,000-4,999	\$ 150.00
5,000-9,999	\$ 175.00
Over 9,999	\$ 200.00
Individual Membership	\$ 35.00
Additional Sites	\$ 50.00
(not including main campus)	

If you have questions, please contact a member of the Executive Committee or Labette Community College.

Amount Enclosed:

Head Count Enrollment:

Phone:

Thank you for your support of CATYC.